Lover and His Lass

My husband and I have been married almost two years now and boy has it been an adventure! Like all couples, especially young ones, we have faced and continue to face trials. We were wed on January 12,2013 which left both of us at the age of 20. Many people would say that getting married at that age is just way too young but I would always past generations that the ladies would get married at the age of 13 or so and if they were not married much after said age then they were considered old maids and therefore undesirable. Another good response I had to anyone who was questioning us purely do to age is that we would always look beautiful and radiant with the glow of youth in our wedding pictures. 🙂

Our wedding was, in my opinion, a small gathering mainly consisting of my family. My husband, Daniel, does not have a big family and about half of his relatives live in other states so their attendance was not expected. The Pastor was one of my Co-Workers at the Christian Book store that I use to work at that the church that we used was his church that he was also the Music Minister at. My husband and I had been in that church a few times before and had even sang in a couple of their Christmas productions so the fact that the Head Pastor of that church allowed us to use the space for a day was not a surprise but it was a huge blessing!

All though there was conflict that encircled us and our marriage the fact that love was abiding not just with the two of us but with pretty much everyone that was involved in some shape, form, or fashion was amazing. Through said conflict and through all the challenges that we have and will face together we always know that we have love and we have each other. It does not matter what  you can or can not afford to do, even if you want to have or do something really badly, you have to keep in mind that all you need God can provide. He gave us each other and He continues to bless us through the ups and down, we always know that He is there.

Daniel and I are huge music and art buffs and as such we opted to choose a song that we felt told our story in one way or another. The song we chose, without any debate what so ever, was Nessun Dorma! It is a story of a young man who has to pass all kinds of tests from both the father (King) and daughter (Princess), that is very much so our story! The only part that doesn’t suit us is the “we must, alas, die” part.

Italian Text
Nessun dorma! Nessun dorma!
Tu pure, o, Principessa,
nella tua fredda stanza,
guardi le stelle
che tremano d’amore
e di speranza.
Ma il mio mistero è chiuso in me,
il nome mio nessun saprà!
No, no, sulla tua bocca lo dirò
quando la luce splenderà!
Ed il mio bacio scioglierà il silenzio
che ti fa mia!
(Il nome suo nessun saprà!…
e noi dovrem, ahime, morir!)
Dilegua, o notte!
Tramontate, stelle!
Tramontate, stelle!
All’alba vincerò!
vincerò, vincerò!

English Translation
Nobody shall sleep!…
Nobody shall sleep!
Even you, o Princess,
in your cold room,
watch the stars,
that tremble with love and with hope.
But my secret is hidden within me,
my name no one shall know…
No!…No!…
On your mouth I will tell it when the light shines.
And my kiss will dissolve the silence that makes you mine!…
(No one will know his name and we must, alas, die.)
Vanish, o night!
Set, stars! Set, stars!
At dawn, I will win! I will win! I will win!

One thought on “Lover and His Lass

Leave a Reply

